Retrofitting vs Building

Jerry
Organization: CIA
Graduation Year: 2013

Retrofitting vs Building

Post by Jerry »

As an avid buggy builder, I was intrigued by Aiton's section in the 2012 Raceday Preview, of which I got a sneak peek (through perfectly legitimate CIA operations)

-----

In the past three years, we’ve seen the return of a trend that hasn’t been popular since the 80’s - retrofitting older buggies instead of building new ones. Before the move to monocoques and carbon composites, it was not uncommon for a buggy to disappear and then reappear with massive changes. Fringe and CIA were notorious for producing frankenstein buggies. Both orgs retired buggies in the 90’s which had everything replaced - including the entire frame.

So why are we seeing this trend now? Is it because of the cross pollination with derby racing, and the discovery of new wheels and rubber? Instead of every org having to make their own wheels and rubber, they now have a slew of off-the-shelf options. With a plethora of choices, and only one real way to test each option (put it on the buggy and try it out), does it make more sense for orgs to retrofit in order to experiment instead of building a whole new buggy?

-----

Coming from an org known for rolling buggies for years and years, that is well-versed in the art of the retrofit (we joked that when we retired Conquest '92 in 2010 there were no original parts left), it's been interesting seeing both sides as we've transitioned to a member of the frequent builder's club.

Obviously, building every year is very expensive, especially if a team wants to use cutting edge materials and achieve professional quality. It's also the best way to keep knowledge in the org, and get new mechanics experience, as working with composites is an art form I've yet to master even after three buggies.